‘A lonely impulse of delight’ WB Yeats 150 Years

WBY Monoprint 14x12cm 2015 S.Lawlor
Stephen Lawlor, WBY

SO Fine Art Editions celebrates the 150th anniversary of Yeats’ birth with a prestigious exhibition titled ‘A lonely impulse of delight’ featuring original works from Ireland’s top writers and artists. This exhibition is part of the official ‘Yeats 2015’ celebrations and incorporates the works of 30 artists and writers.

View some of the works from the exhibition. Please click on each thumbnail for full image. More images to come.

Inspired by the poetry of W.B. Yeats, these visual artists and authors have created original works in fine art print, photography, sculpture and the written word. Among the participants are: John Banville, Colm Tóibín, Edna O’Brien, Paul Muldoon, Eavan Boland, Donald Teskey, Hughie O’Donoghue, Richard Gorman, Martin Gale, John Behan, Norman Ackroyd, Lars Nyberg, Diana Copperwhite, Amelia Stein, Michael Canning, Ed Miliano and Barbara Rae.

This exhibition will also include items of historic and artistic interest from Cuala Press, which was set up in 1908 by Elizabeth and Lilly Yeats with the support of their brother William Butler. Cuala Press played an important role in the Irish Literary Revival of the early 20th century and was also crucial to the subsequent development of printmaking in Ireland.

The exhibition will celebrate that visual-literary link by bringing some of Ireland’s foremost printmakers, painters,sculptors and photographers together with some of our most renowned writers. The intention is to bring W.B. Yeats to contemporary audiences through the work of living artists and writers.

The exhibition is being produced by SO Fine Art Editions, 10 South Anne St., Dublin, and will open in our gallery on November 26th, 2015. The show will then tour in Ireland and internationally, starting in Sligo, in December, 2015. The international tour will include venues in the USA, Sweden, UK, France and Japan.

Participating Writers:
John Banville
Eavan Boland
Paul Muldoon
Edna O’Brien
Colm Tóibín

Participating Visual Artists:
Donald Teskey
Hughie O’Donoghue
Richard Gorman
Diana Copperwhite
Martin Gale
Michael Canning
Barbara Rae
Norman Ackroyd
Stephen Lawlor
Aoife Scott
Jean Bardon
James McCreary
Ed Miliano
Amelia Stein
Yoko Akino
Lars Nyberg
Kelvin Mann
Kate Mac Donagh
Vincent Sheridan
Lina Nordenström
Michael Cullen
Louise Leonard
Niamh Flanagan
Niall Naessens
Paul Gaffney
Leo Higgins
John Behan

Thank you to our Fund It Participants 

Diana Jamieson
Kate Mac Donagh Herron
Billy Shortall
Alexandra College
Eoin Cassidy
Riah Creighton
Valerie O’Loughlin
Aideen Quilty
Paul Ryan
Maude Allen
Anne Culhane
Louise Leonard
T P Kennedy
Cornelia McCarthy
Declan Barnes
Mary McDonald
Carla Briggs
John Kelly
Susan O’Neill
Monica Cullinan
Declan Clifford
Jean Bardon
Aoife Terry
Gillian Duffy
Paddy Morton
Catherine Bligh
Andrew Moorhouse
Maureen O’Rafferty
Catherine & William Earley
Donal McDonald